Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Testing an original Graflex three cell flashgun
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Barry64

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2022 11:28 pm    Post subject: Testing an original Graflex three cell flashgun Reply with quote

Hello I'm after some help please I am a complete novice and have acquired an original Graflex three cell flashgun that was my fathers and I am considering selling it I am fully aware that it is very collectible but want to try to test it beforehand to see if it works first if that is possible before I do I have a variety of vintage bulbs leads and fittings but don’t even know If I can just test it with batteries alone or if I need the camera do this which sadly I do not have
Can some body please advise me on what I can do please ?

Thanks In advance

Barry
45PSS

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2022 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.cameramanuals.org/prof_pdf/graflex_flash_synchronizer.pdf
the pins for the shutters flash sync pin can be shorted to test that function.
DO NOT short the solenoid contacts.
Barry64

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2022 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link can you be more specific on which page in the manual I need to get that information from please

Barry
45PSS

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2022 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The red button on the back should fire a flash bulb if screwed into the socket with a flash bulb and batteries installed.
Barry64

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2022 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

45PSS wrote:
The red button on the back should fire a flash bulb if screwed into the socket with a flash bulb and batteries installed.