Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looking for help...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Graflex.org Forum Index -> Speed Graphic Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Brother P

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2001 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just received my first Graflex Crown camera and I am very excited about it. The problem is that I have never used a medium format camera. I have been doing 35 mm b/w for the past 10 years and am ready to move on. I am living in a small town in Alaska with no sources nearby for help.
The first problem that I am having is opening the camera. Next I am looking for suggestions of all sorts. My old college professor has given me some suggestions but I am looking for more. I am in the process of building darkroom in my classroom up here and am looking for ideas of what I would need to be able to develop 4x5 negatives. I have been informed to watch out for static electricity when taking pictures in extremely cold weather. (I will be in negative degree temperatures for a long time)
Any and all suggestions are welcomed. The most basic things are what I need now, i.e. how to use the camera properly. I will be going to Anchorage in two weeks and I would like to pick up chemicals, paper and whatever I need then.
Thank you very much for your help with a rookie who is just trying to discover other ways of taking pictures.
Sincerely,
Jason
Oblio

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2001 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To open, look on the top of the camera next to the viewfinder (if you have one) for a little bump in the center under the leatherette. Press on the bump and ... Voilla !
This works on a Crown Graphic 2x3.