Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Storing film on the road
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BobF

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a newbie question but I'm still fairly new to LF photography.

To date I've only used Ready/Quickload film in my Crown but want to use some other films (e.g., Scala, Velvia, Plus-X, Tri-X, etc.). I'm planning a 9 or 10 day trip to the east coast of Canada in may to shoot lighthouses/landscapes/waterfalls/whatever else strikes my eye. Most of the shooting will be on 35mm/MF but I will be taking the 4x5 as well. I have 3, two-sided film holders and am looking at maybe 2-4 sheets/day. I will be taking my changing bag to load/unload the holders.

So, what do you do in the field to store and manage your exposed sheets till you get home and get them to the lab?

Thoughts appreciated. Thanks.
t.r.sanford

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The informal old practice was to use a film box. When you load your holders, you keep the thin black paper interleaving sheets, and you bring along an empty box. Suppose you have five holders. You expose the film in them, then unload them in a daylight changing bag and stack the exposed films, sandwiched with the interleaving sheets, in the empty box (with its light trap insert). Then you reload the holders from the full box. If you're using several types of film, you bring along several empty boxes, prominently marked. It's not elegant, but it's economical and straightforward!
BobF

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote