Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Optar 101/4.5 diaphragm trouble

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Billy Canuck

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:37 pm    Post subject: Optar 101/4.5 diaphragm trouble Reply with quote

I have the above lens on a Crown 23 and have just found the diaphragm has developed a problem. One or more of the leaves is out of alignment and the diaphragm will not open and close correctly (leaves won't form a circle).
I need some advice. Is a repair possible or feasible? I'm thinking this may depend on what exactly is causing the trouble, but I'm not technically adept enough to dismantle the lens and have a look.
The glass is in excellent condition and so is the Graphex shutter. The rangefinder is dead accurate for the lens (I use a rollfilm back).
I've used the camera and lens for years with great success and I'd like to keep on using it. Any advice would be very welcome.
45PSS

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get another shutter.
The shutter blades and aperture blades either have two pins on them. one at the rear center that the blade pivots on and one a short distance from the end that fits into a cam slot that makes it follow a given pattern of movement.

The aperture blades are at the back of the shutter, everything comes out the front. A blade from another shutter of the same make and size can be put into this one.
Henry

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote