Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Auto Graflex Junior, A Film Back Solution To Shoot 120??

View previous topic :: View next topic  
minoltafan

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 3:02 pm    Post subject: Auto Graflex Junior, A Film Back Solution To Shoot 120?? Reply with quote

Ok, maybe there is a better solution out there for putting a 120 film back onto an old Auto Graflex Jr. I'm totally new to this type of camera so forgive me if I'm lacking in experience in the MF/LF format.

I received this Auto Graflex as part of my commission for selling off (and continuing to sell) a large vintage camera collection for a friend's estate.

I knew nothing about this camera beforehand but I knew that it was something I thought I'd like.....and ultimately use. The camera had a 2x3 sheet film back already on the camera with film still inside....from God knows how long ago.

Upon thorough internet research I quickly learned about the Graflex conundrum.....concerning the "Graflok" and "Graflex" backs for the cameras. I learned about the manufacturers' history of Folmer & Schwing and Graflex.

I knew sheet film wasn't going to be practical for me to use. I don't have a darkroom. I don't process my own film. I figured that if I was going to be even slightly inclined to use this camera at all I'd need to use 120 film....due to availability and processing.

There's a specialized photo lab within a 15 minute drive from my work and home that sells, processes and prints 120 slide or negative film.

My solution:

I bought a Graflex RH10 120 film back from ebay for $30 delivered knowing already that it wasn't going to fit the camera. However, there's a machine shop that's next door to my office and I'm friendly with several of the guys there.