Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Standard lenses: the Dagor 10cm f6.3cm - feedback anyone?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
R_J

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:21 am    Post subject: Standard lenses: the Dagor 10cm f6.3cm - feedback anyone? Reply with quote

I gather this lens covers 6x9cm format and probably derived from a dismantled folding bellows camera in a Compur shutter. It looks like it can mount directly on to a Graflex Century 2x3 lensboard.

Has anyone any experience with shooting with this lens?
Dan Fromm

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RJ, take another look, it is probably f/6.8.

I have no experience with Goerz Dagors, have 210/6.8 Boyer Beryl and 210/7.7 Beryl S, both Dagor types. They're quite good.

I doubt that your 100/6.8 was intended for 6x9. There's considerable disagreement about Dagors' coverage -- if you search around on Q. T. Luong's LF forum you'll find a long and hilarious thread on the topic; it was initiated by landarc -- and sharpness. When the Dagor were new the usual claim was 85 degrees at f/22. Boyer made that claim for their Beryl too, but one of my friends who has the Beryl prescriptions and has evaluated the lenses tells me that 70 degrees is more realistic.

If I had your lens I'd try it out.

Dagors that short are uncommon so yours may well have some value.

Cheers,

Dan
R_J

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dan,